Andrew Mitchel LLC

International Tax Blog - New and Interesting International Tax Issues

US Treaty Limitation on Benefits Status Map


We have created a map of the limitation on benefits (“LOB”) status of the 66 countries for which the US has income tax treaties.

US treaties with 46 countries have full LOB rules.

US treaties with six countries have no LOB rules (Greece, Hungary, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, and Romania).

The former USSR-US Income Tax Treaty, which applies to nine former republics of the USSR, also has no LOB rules (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan).

US treaties with five countries have limited LOB rules (Egypt, Korea, Morocco, Norway, and Trinidad & Tobago).

Tags: 894 Limitation on Benefits